Fifteen year old Colton Minty spends his spare time playing hockey and racing motocross. And he volunteers at Parkridge Centre (PRC). “I talk with the residents, we play games, I help with lunch if they need help,” says the grade 10 student from Tommy Douglas Collegiate in Saskatoon.

During the summer months, Colton volunteers twice a week. “During the school year, I come whenever there’s a break,” he says.

“It is truly an honour to have Colton volunteer within the Community Day Program here at Parkridge Centre,” says Corinne Tan, Coordinator of Volunteers at PRC. “Despite his young age, he has proven to be wise and compassionate beyond his years. He is an extremely pleasant young man, who was able to easily integrate with the staff and participants of the Community Day Program.”

Colton Minty spends many school breaks volunteering at Parkridge Centre.

“We truly believe that this young man will go far in life and will truly make a difference in the lives of many.”

Colton is one of hundreds of volunteers in Saskatoon Health Region and likely the youngest. But he hopes his time at PRC will lead to bigger things. “I want to be a surgeon when I’m older. I’m in a few grade 11 sciences now, and in grade 11 next year, I can shadow a doctor. I thought this would be a good first step.”

“I love everything about anatomy. I’ve read five or six anatomy textbooks during drives to the lake,” he says. “It gives me experience with patient care, knowing how to talk to residents. It gives me people skills. It’s a small step to a big step.”

For more information on volunteer opportunities, visit http://www.saskatoonhealthregion.ca/volunteer.