The first session of the 12 Week Healthy Weight Challenge ended in March. More than 150 Region employees participated in the email-based program.

Each week, participants received emails from Mimi Lodoen, Healthy Workplace Educator with Saskatoon Health Region, that provided information on nutrition, physical activity and strategies for making positive lifestyle changes.

Employees either progressed on their own, or were encouraged to gather a group of employees together at their worksite to share successes and challenges with each other. Mimi said there was a tremendously positive response to the program, and shared several comments:
“This program was excellent! I enjoyed the program because it did not feel like pressure – it was simple to follow and you reminded us that this is a lifestyle change not a diet and that we can always change course to get back on track to reach our goals. I enjoyed receiving the emails each week and the information they contained. The program was easy to follow”

“I did see success. I accomplished eating healthier, and making healthier food choices. I pack a salad every day for lunch and also upped my protein intake. I also dedicate four or five days a week of exercise into my life, my biggest challenge is knowing that it takes time to see results and not to give into fad diets and most importantly not to give up!”
To register for the the next session of the 12 Week Healthy Weight Challenge, contact Mimi Lodoen at Mimi.lodeon@saskatoonhealthregion.ca or on the Infonet. Look under Tools and then Training Registration System – Healthy Workplace.