Dr. Peter Kapusta, assistant professor at the University of Saskatchewan’s College of Medicine, has been named the Saskatchewan Medical Association (SMA)’s Physician of the Year for 2012, receiving the award at the SMA Representative Assembly dinner held May 4 in Regina.

Dr. Peter Kapusta

Dr. Kapusta has made outstanding contributions to the medical profession in our province for more than 30 years, including a substantial commitment to Saskatchewan’s medical students and residents,” says Dr. Janet Shannon, SMA president. “He is well-regarded for his compassion and professionalism, regularly going the extra mile to provide outstanding service and care to his patients and community.”

The Saskatchewan Medical Association first presented the SMA Physician of the Year Award in 2002 to pay tribute to the outstanding community contributions made by Saskatchewan physicians.