In celebration of National Nursing Week we are profiling some of our nurses. Meet Clinical Nurse Educator Nada Stone.

Clinical Nurse Educator Nada Stone

Clinical Nurse Educator Nada Stone

Nada is based out of Wakaw, but her position covers all the rural sites in Saskatoon Health Region. This is what she had to say:

What is the best thing about your job?

“Teaching. I love to share my passion for nursing with other nurses. It is a very rewarding experience, to share knowledge with staff and assist them in providing excellent patient care.

“As a nurse educator, I provide education, orientation, and information about new product rollouts to other nurses. In the rural area, my coworkers and I cover many sites, providing nurses with their required educational updates in areas such as CPR, IV Therapy, and trauma nursing. 

“We also support the clinical leaders in each facility and sit on important committees, providing a connection between Region policy and nurses.”

What’s been the biggest improvement you have seen in patient care in the past four months?

“The biggest one for me, under the leadership of Dan Florizone, has been the positive improvement in patient flow. There are decreased wait times in the emergency department for admitted patients, better discharge planning, and smoother transitions from urban sites to rural sites. Additionally, I see more information being shared in a more timely manner. I used to work in emergency at RUH, and to see people getting beds faster is amazing to me. I see lots of positive things coming.”

National Nursing Week 2015 - May 11-17

See more stories about Region improvements at www.saskatoonhealthregion.ca/ReadyEveryDay.